nekoballs

March 1, 2010

getting lost via Hillsdale Mudway

Filed under: cycling, ride report — Tags: , , , , , , , , , , — nekoball @ 3:38 PM

I was not able to convince anyone to explore San Mateo dirt with me on Sunday, so, not wanting to waste a nice day, I headed out solo to explore the Ammon dirtway route. The plan was to start at Hillsdale Caltrains, follow the trail to Cañada Rd., and then turn back toward Millbrae. I took a few glances of the map and the route and emailed myself directions. I figured that if I got lost, I could easily pull out google maps on my iPhone or look at my directions. EXCEPT. I forgot my phone-But, I had my camera!

Heading West on Hillsdale, I made a left turn and was immediately lost. Luckily or miraculously, I remembered that I was looking for Laurelwood Dr., which led to the entrance to Laurelwood Park. As you can see on the map, I tried three different directions at the intersection of Fernwood St. and 36th St. before I found Laurelwood. After climbing up into the park, I continued upward and tried two exits to the park. I couldn’t really see where else I could go, so I headed up De Anza Blvd, which seemed incorrect because there was no dirt.


Looking down toward Laurelwood Park

Going up De Anza, I turned around at HWY92, because I knew that was wrong, and again at a deadend, because I couldn’t go any further. Eventually, I headed back to the Park and considered my options.  I didn’t have a phone so I couldn’t check for directions or call for someone to get me if I ran out of daylight or ability. So I decided that I should head home… soon. Overlooking the park, I noticed a trail opening on the other side of the grass field. Lets see where it goes!


Mud mud muddy mud.

As soon as I rode past the mountain lion warning sign, I knew I was back on track. Key point: MUD. Not having any idea where to go, I stayed right every time the trail spilt and eventually got to a completely unridable section. I dismounted, hoping to walk through it and got to this:

That picture does nothing to show how steep and sloped that was. I didn’t think I could even hike much further with my now very muddy shoes and decided to head back. I climbed back up De Anza again and headed to Sawyer Camp Trail. With a mile to go, I stopped to make use of my camera, to make up for-not being able to use my phone.

Bike got dirty again.

Compare my route vs Ammon’s route. Next time get lost less please! (or remember to bring your phone)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

